3D Modelling

So this is my idea for my Trelissick Park installation. The work has to relate to something about the park or the house, so I thought I’d look at Copeland pottery as the Copeland family owned the land for a period of time. The idea is to have a few tears in the landscape with some kind of pattern inspired by Copeland-Spode pottery underneath to sort of imply that the pattern runs under the surface of the ground all over the Gardens.

tear 1 tear4 tear3 tear 2

This is an alternate version, but I don’t think it works as well. I have sketches of lots of variations on this idea. I might mock up a few more in Sketchup to see how they work.

render reveal

This is just me playing around with various 3D rendering programs and trying to get to grips with how they work.

screenshot000

Just a simply geometric form that I played with in Marmoset Toolbag.

screenshot002

I tried my flap model in Marmoset Toolbag. The finish on the soil and the ceramic glazed surface is really nice but there is no built in grass/fur rendering option in this as far as I’m aware, so I would probably have to hand model all the grass. I used a leaf material instead as it was the closest thing. They look quite damp.

screenshot003

I made some star things in Sketchup. Just playing around with them in Toolbag.

screenshot004 screenshot005 screenshot006

And these last few were experiments using the demo of Maxwell for Sketchup. You can make some really nice translucent materials in this. I may have to try and see if I can get one of my tutors to help me get a cheap student version of this software.

fruity star glass goo 2 glass goo

And this last thing is me going through a tutorial on Blender, which is a free 3D modelling and rendering program that is very complex compared to software I’m used to using, but once I get used to it I should be able to do some really interesting things with it.

I have a real problem with cups/mugs. Even when I’ve attempted to coil some mugs in clay I end up with these giant skinny loops.that look like elephant ears for handles

cup

Leave a Reply

